Ebony Reigns
Ebony Reigns

The act who wins the coveted Artist of the Year laurel at this year’s Ghana Music Awards, would have had to fight off he fiercest competition in recent years.

Throughout Saturday (March 3), 2018 nominees were announced via the scheme’s social media handles, and an “Unveil Party’ held at the Mövenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra later that night.

Check out : Ebony – Turn On The Light (One Dread Riddim) (Prod. by Beatz Dakay)

Perhaps the most anticipated of all categories was the Artist of the Year slot. This was predicated by late singer, Ebony Reigns’ unprecedented run all through 2017, and Shatta Wale’s surprise inclusion after a 4- year ban.

Gospel singer Joe Mettle, who currently wears the crown, looks to retain the title, especially off the impact of “Bo Noo Ni” (ft Luigi Maclean) and the “God of Miracles” album.

The category is completed by usual suspects Sarkodie and Stonebwoy, who have, for the past decade or so, remained firmly rooted among the first rank of acts from Ghana, and indeed the VGMAs.

Sponsored by telecom giant Vodafone, festival will witness an official launch on March 5, a nominees’ jam in Cape Coast on March 24, a music seminar at the Movënpick Hotel on 12th April, and the main event at the Accra International Conference Centre on April 14. The main event will be followed by a celebration jam in Tema on April 28.

Read the full list of nominations below:

Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle


Shatta Wale



Song of the Year

Sponsor – Ebony

Odo – Kidi

Angela – Kuami Eugene

Taking Over- Shatta Wale ft. SM Militants

Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam ft. Sarkodie

Bronya – Wutah

One Corner – Patapaa ft. Ras Cann

Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle ft. Luigi Maclean

Obi Agye Obi Girl – Captain Planet ft. Kofi Kinaata

My Baby – Magnom ft. Joey B

Oh Yea – King Promise

Pain Killer – Sarkodie ft. Runtown

Highlife Song Of the year

Dream – Kumi Guitar

Bronya – Wutah

Odo – Kidi

Angela – Kuami Eugene

Over – R2bees

Hustle – Ebony

Gospel Song Of The Year

Boot 4 Boot – Joyce Blessing

Obi Nyanime – Patience Nyarko

Efatawo – Nacee

Adom – Gifty Osei

Jehovah – Ceccy Twum

Hiplife song of the year

Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam ft. Sarkodie

Boys Boys – Nacee F. Guru

Obi Agye Obi Girl – Captain Planet ft. Kofi Kinataa

Ayoo – Shatta Walle

One Corner – Patapaa

Hip Pop Song of the Year:

State Of The Art – Teephlow

Light It Up – Sarkodie

Grind Day Remix – Kwesi Arthur

Pen and Paper – Kojo Cue & Shaker

Dear God—B4Bonah

Reggae/Dancehall Song of The Year

Until The Dawn – Efya

My Own – Samini

My Name – Stonebwoy

Maya Burn Dem – Article Wan

Rewind – Mzvee

Dem Confuse – Shatta Wale

Afro Pop Song of the Year

Makoma – Adina

Oh Yeah – King Promise

Say You Love Me – Kidi

Sing My Name – Mzvee

Jennifer Lomotey – Kurl Songz

Sponsor – Ebony

My Baby – Magnom

Come From Afar – Stonebwoy

Gospel Artiste of the Year

Joyce Blessing

Patience Nyarko

Joe Mettle

Celestine Donkor


Gifty Osei

HighLife Artiste of the Year



Kuami Eugene


Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year

Shatta Wale




Songwriter of the Year

Kumi Guitar – Dream

Joe Mettle – Bo Noo Ni

Bullet – Maame Hwe

Kofi Kinaata – Last Show

Samini – My Own

Stonebwoy – My Name

Best Music Video of the Year

Dream (Kumi Guitar) – Abass

Selfish (King Promise) – Vertex

My Girl (B4Bonah) – Nicol Sey

Wedding Car (Opanka) – Bra Shizzle

Obi Agyi Obi Girl(Captain Planet) – Gyo

Pen & Paper-Kojo Cue & Shaker – E Kumodzi

Record of the Year

Dream – Kumi Guitar

My Own – Samini

Glory – Sarkodie

State Of The Art – Teephlow

Hiplife/hiphop Artiste of the Year



Captain Planet

Kwesi Arthur



Best Male Vocal Performance

Joe Mettle – Bo Noo Ni

King Promise – Selfish

Kidi – Odo

Kuami Eugene – Angela

Mugeez – Over

Samini – My Own

Best Female Vocal Performance


Nana Yaa-Don’t Leave Me Alone

Efya- Love

Mzvee-Bright Lights


Best Group of the Year




Best Rapper of the year

Eno Barony- Fear No Man


Sarkodie— Light It Up

Shaker— Pen and Paper

Ko-jo Cue-Pen and Paper

Strongman — Transformer

Best collaboration of the year

Bo Noo Ni— Joe Mettle Ft Luigi Maclean

Sing My Name Remix— Mzvee Ft Patoranking

Jennifer Lomotey— Kurl Songs ft Sarkodie

Pain Killer— Sarkodie ft Runtown

Taking Over— Shatta Wale Ft S.M Militants

Obi Agye Obi Girl— Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinata

Na Wash— Becca ft Patoranking

African Artiste of the year



Too Fan

Cassper Nyovest

Nasty C

Tiwa Savage


Best New Artiste of the year

King Promise

Kurl Songz


Kuami Eugege


Kwesi Arthur


There shall also be honorary awards for Traditional Artiste of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award and Instrumentalist of the Year.

Vodafone Music Awards will be held on 14th April, 2018 at the Accra International Conference Centre.